Always tweaking something!

Holy Cow

Day 2062

It was all I could do to keep myself at work till even close to 5 Thursday. The idea was that after ordering the bike Monday, it would be shipped (from Wisconsin – built in America!!)) Tuesday, assembled Wednesday/Thursday and ready to pick up Thursday.

In a move fueled by excitement & anticipation, I left my home phone number with the bike shop. Dumb move. The bike shop is 4.5 from work. Home is 8.5 miles from work. The bike shop is another 8.5 miles from home. I didn’t want to go home, get the message on the machine, drive up to the shop and drive home again. I took a chance and went to the bike shop not knowing if they called. I suppose I could have called them, but where’s the fun in that?

Long story short, they had called, my bike was ready and I only looked a little goofy. Got them to swap out the pedals to one compatible with my shoes and off I went. Got home, found that the speedo I’d ordered from Amazon arrived (great planning!), so I got to work getting that put on the bike. Put on a saddle bag, loaded in some emergency goodies and took it out for a spin.

Now, a couple years ago when I was riding a ridiculous amount, I could average 17mph on a 6 – 10 mile ride. Tonight, with really not much more than spin class 3x a week for workouts, I had no trouble averaging 19+mph. My maiden voyage was a quick shot out to Zach’s house – 5.75 miles one way – and back. It’s a pretty flat run, only two lumps, each less than 50 feet in height, not much to fret. But it makes a nice first run.

I find the new bike to be stiffer framed, more responsive, much more comfortable to ride. The improvement in the number of hand positions helps too. No numb hands tonight. Now that saddle is going to take some getting used to. The contours of the saddle don’t seem to match the contours if my sitter bones. I may end up swapping seats with my other bike. Never know. If my butt doesn’t take a liking to this new seat, it’s gotta go.

Friday, if the weather allows, I’ll make a more challenging run. Something more in the 30 mile range with a few hills (glacial drumlins) thrown in for good measure. Got to pay attention to my “To Do” list too. First on the list? Get to sleep.

Later.

ps – edited to add that Cindy has arrived in France in one piece. Sent me a picture of their hotel. Remarked on how similar New Orleans architecture is to French. Their outbound flight was also not affected by that volcano in Iceland. They had to be very close to that as it blew. Maybe a touch south. I lost tracking once their plane passed the Canadian Maritimes. (Newfoundland, PEI, Gander). 12 days to figure out if they’ll be ok to fly back. Could get interesting.

4 responses

  1. Congrats on the new bike! Sounds just awesome. I’m planning to get back out on the bike tomorrow if the weather cooperates.

    Have fun!

    April 16, 2010 at 7:20 am

    • bikinfool

      I took today off to get some house projects done (or started). I gotta sneak in a ride while the weather holds!

      April 16, 2010 at 9:42 am

  2. Congrats on the new bike! Wisconsin is a fine place to buy goods 🙂 Did it come with a block of cheese?

    April 19, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    • bikinfool

      Nah, no cheese. I’ll have to check at the shop and see if they kept it. Put enough together and they could make a spare wheel or something!

      April 20, 2010 at 6:18 pm

Leave a Reply

