Always tweaking something!

Randomness

Day 2025 Randomness

Random Dozen time!

1. How old is the oldest pair of shoes in your closet?

If I check the downstairs coat closet, I believe I have a pair of 28 year old work boots that have been about worked to death. They’re actually very soft & torn up. The tread knubblies are worn flat. I’ve been keeping them till I get my new boots broke in.

2. Did you buy Girl Scout cookies this year? If so, what variety?

Only Savannah’s. Or what ever they’re calling the peanut butter filled ones thee days.

3. Do you know how to ballroom dance? If not, would you like to?

No. This is one of the I’ve offered up as a couples activity. Cindy has balked at it

4. Were you a responsible child/teenager?

My mom started working outside the home after I hit 6th grade. Why? Because she figured I was old enough to hold down the fort till she or Dad got home. Learned how to cook dinners then too

5. How many of this year’s Oscar-nominated movies did you see?

A – I can’t name any more than 3 of the nominees
B – Only went and saw 2 movies at the theater ($9 a ticket Puhleeze!) and I’m sure they weren’t nominated.

6. If you’re going to have a medical procedure done, such as having blood drawn, is it easier for you to watch someone else having the procedure done or have it done yourself?

I like to watch period. I watch when I give blood, I watch when I get stitches. If they could have rigged a TV and gotten the anesthesia right, I’d have watched when they carved the shark bite out of my leg too. I think it’s pretty neat stuff.

7. What is your favorite day of the week and why?

Tomorrow.

8. Do you miss anyone right now?

I miss my dad from time to time. I miss my mother in law too. Don’t miss my father in law yet – too soon I think.

9. Do hospitals make you queasy?

See my answers to #6.

10. At which store would you like to max-out your credit card. Not that you ever would, you responsible person, you.

Gander Mountain and/or Full Moon Vista Bike shop.

11. Are you true to the brand names of products/items?

I am true to the best bang for the buck. Unless it comes to cars. There I always favor the American makes.

12. Which is more difficult: looking into someone’s eyes when you are telling someone how you feel, or looking into someone’s eyes when he/she is telling you how he/she feels?

I have a hard time looking people in the eye period. I try it, often, but it feels like one or both of us are being violated. Kinda depends on what the conversation is too. Seems easier to do if emotions are pushed to one extreme or another.

I figured out something Sunday while in the midst of a lovely passive/aggressive snit.
I need space. Specifically, I need a room, in the house, that is mine. Not a boys only club, but a space I design, build, decorate, organize and can use or abuse as I see fit.

More than that, I (and I really hesitate to use the term here) resent the fact that I can’t have any expectations of privacy. I can’t trust that if I put something down somewhere, it’ll still be there in an hour. It’s not like I have anything to hide, it’s just that I want my stuff to not be messed with. I want to be able to leave a laptop power brick plugged in. I would love to take a weekend and redo our filing system. Until I have that weekend, stuff has got to stay where I leave it so I know where it is. I want a space where stuff that’s NOT mine doesn’t get dumped because someone couldn’t find someplace better for it. In short, I want a place where I am the only person that is responsible for what is or isn’t there. A space where someone else isn’t trying to exert their control over me or my stuff. Is that so wrong?

One response

  1. I ♥ Random Dozen!

    I know the issue regarding space. When husband and I were still together his office was his domain. The door was always closed and the expectation was that no one would go in there for anything.

    I don’t think that is unreasonable at all …

    March 13, 2010 at 1:36 pm

Leave a Reply

