Always tweaking something!

Flower City Fellowship

Day (what was yesterday?) + 1

Burned off gobs of calories at spin class Saturday morning. Spent the afternoon at the Flower City Fellowship Convention. That’s the Rochester area AA Convention.

What a production! The smaller panels seated 40 – 50 in the audience. We also took in a very good Al Anon speaker in the main hall early in the afternoon then sat through the Main AA speaker with a crowd of about 350 folks – AA, Al Anon and Alateen.

The AA’s were the vast majority in attendance. I was a bit surprised at just how many people Cindy knew. Surprisingly to me, I only ran into 3 Al Anon folks I knew.

Both the Al Anon and AA speakers were VERY good. Well spoken, engaging stories, valuable lessons to share. Each had 28+ years in program. It was obvious they were polished speakers. Bev, the Al Anon speaker came to us from Lewisville, Tx. Francine, the AA speaker was originally from Atlanta, grew up in the Bronx, and found AA after leaving Las Vegas for San Francisco. Helluva story she had.

Cindy got a dinner reservation, I was too late. I’m sitting here at home trying to type up our local AIS newsletter waiting for the call to make the 15 minute trip downtown to pick her up.

Better get to that newsletter.

2 responses

  1. Hi Brian,

    It’s been a while since I remembered where to find you. I’m so sorry to hear about Bob’s passing. Best wishes to you all x

    March 7, 2010 at 8:08 am

  2. Q

    I had a moment online, so I thought I’d catch up. Google reader said I was 11 posts behind, so I figured I could read those pretty quickly, but I’ve scrolled back to March & I still don’t see any posts that look familiar (as tho I’ve read them before) & I should be at work in 6&1/2 hours. Eventually, I’ll stop by for more than 3 minutes 🙂

    Take care & visit me on Twitter 🙂

    May 25, 2010 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

