Always tweaking something!

Weekend Wrap

Day 1898

Saturday morning, I don’t recall precisely when, things got a little funky for a while. I was installing the lat piece of molding. It was a bit of a struggle to get it to fit as I’d like, took several attempts. Then, as I’d start to nail it in it would shift, necessitating repositioning it, again. Got a nail going in the pieces midsection, then drilled a small pilot hole for a nail out towards the edge. Placed the nail, hit it a couple times to get it going and promptly split the piece of wood.

That little mishap nearly broke the camels back. I was having a hard time getting any traction going as it was, was feeling very frustrated by recent (non) events and was just full ‘to here’ (holds hand 6” over head with that flat waving motion, you know?) and one thing after another was not going smoothly. I needed to take me a little time out.

It’s weird. When I get all frustrated and pent up like that, I get this urge to throw things. Doesn’t matter what it is, I just want to pick stuff up and fling it across the room and watch it disappear through the wall. I don’t act out on it, but MAN, it would sure feel good. I also have no doubt that were I to throw something baseball size-ish at a wall, it WOULD go through the interior drywall and I really don’t want to have to be fixing that up along with everything else.

Instead, I laid down on the couch, let the frustration sort of wash over me for a few minutes then sat up, wiped my eyes and got on with things. Cut yet another new piece of molding (third one for that spot!). It fit, it went in ok and I got on with my day. Which involved (of course) more molding.

The trim molding above the bead board went in very nicely and looks great. I splotched in the nail holes and Cindy did the touch up painting. Really can’t recall what else I did Saturday, except skipping out on the Halloweeners and going out to dinner. It was just odd that I had that overwhelmed feeling just take over for a while there. I think it’s a realization that I’m really power less over something that causes that – knowing that nothing I can do will have the effect I want on the outcome. Seems to have been brought about by finding that new bottle in the stash.

The new bottle that got moved too by the way. While on my quest for chocolate Friday nite, I wasn’t careful. There was a box of stuff from the powder room in front of this one particular hutch that I moved to gain access. After discovering no chocolate in the cache but stumbling across the vodka instead, I was disappointed, flustered, distracted and a little angry. Consequently, I couldn’t remember the precise position of the box. Next day? Gone. Moved again. Now, that could have been because I was planning on working in the powder room Saturday and the move was pre-emptive in order to maintain access to the supply. Or – it could have been because the hider noticed something was fishy and decided to move the stash to sooper seekrit hidden location #14a – a little commode type thingy done up in an asian theme that we keep by the front door. Nice piece, old, and hard to get into/out of quietly. The spring loaded latch is difficult to operate quietly. But! I will persevere.

Sunday. Cindy did more molding touchups. I got to go outside & do leaves. At least the front & one side yard. Then Zach stopped over and we hauled out the garage. All the garage sale stuff went up in the loft, a whole lotta crap got tossed, and except for my small table saw and the yet-to-be-built cabinet for the powder room, I think we might be parking in there in the next night or two. At least I really hope so, because we had a really nice thick frost on things this morning. Being garaged would help eliminate that. And I KNOW this is tempting fate, especially around here, but it’s Nov. 2 and I don’t have a scraper or snow brush in my truck yet. I have GOT to get one before I get reduced to scraping my windshield with an ATM card or something. At least, unlike SOME parts of the country (I’m thinking Colorado & Wyoming here) we aren’t buried under 2 – 3 feet of snow. Yet.

Had dinner at the kids house Sunday night. Very neat. We brought bread, they did lasagna, salad & an apple pie for dessert. Even had my mom over too. After Cindy had left for her meeting, we learned that my long lost brother from Tennessee will be in town in a couple weeks with his whole clan – wife, their 2 kids and their kids spouses. My mom wanted to get the extended family together at her place – close to 20 folks. Hmm, I just counted – it’s exactly 20 folks, and there are 3 that can’t make it so I didn’t even count them. Bottom line? Mom’s place is too small, lacks parking and is central to no one. My place on the other hand is the opposite. Big enough (almost), good parking, and I’m central to all who would visit. I need to tell Cindy we volunteered.

Monday night now. Need one stinking part to compete the sink install. The drain tail pipe is about 2 inches short of what I need. Quick stop at the local Home Despot ought to do the trick. The room formerly known as the family room is starting to look normal again too. Good thing – we’re going to need it when the clan gathers in a couple weeks!

4 responses

  1. That whole “powerless over people” thing sucks mightily at times, doesn’t it? I feel your frustration, I really do. Sending good thoughts your way.

    November 3, 2009 at 7:00 am

  2. BonJon

    Powerless over others, oh yes! Just walking away for a bit and taking some deep breaths and letting it go. Much easier to say then to do, but helps.

    November 3, 2009 at 10:47 am

    • bikinfool

      “Much easier to say than to do” – Boy! Don’t I know that. I still want to throw something through a wall, but that’s why I have this bowling thing once a week.

      November 3, 2009 at 12:02 pm

  3. Q

    Maybe you could actually go throw a ball (or something) around outside, since you seem to have a big yard (wouldn’t do any damage like inside).

    Quick question that you may have already answered or touched on before: Why don’t you pour out the bottles you find?

    November 3, 2009 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

