Always tweaking something!

Some Things To Ponder . . .

Day 1885

Tuesdays thoughts:

For someone that (used to) bike to work and (used to) scoot all over a 3 county area on a bike just for fun, this is a thought provoking article.

For the non-clickers out there, the article discusses a recent surge in cyclists being ticket in the D.C area for running stop signs, doing illegal ‘right on red’ turns and a spate of other traffic offenses.

This opens a whole Pandora’s box of questions. Should the cyclists even have been ticketed? When there is obviously no traffic present, should cyclists be required to obey stop signs? If there were bike paths (as opposed to lanes) everywhere, would this even be an argument? What about when bike paths and roads intersect?

Interesting article, MUCH less depressing than the story I linked Monday about one mans decision to keep health benefits for his cancer stricken wife, and not irrelevant to 99% of the 4 people that read here, because how many times have you encountered a cyclist while motoring around in your car, van, truck or soove? (breathe . . . .)

Ahem.

Counseling tonight. Starting later than usual, and I still have my 8pm Al Anon meeting, so I asked if we could change up our normal batting order. Rather than Cindy doing her 1/1 first and me coming in to a warmed up room trying to figure out what went on before I walked in, I get to go first tonight and Cindy gets the anxiety ridden role of being the walker-inner. She’ll also have the privilege of staying after and deconstructing the couples session. For me, this has been useful for gaining a sense of perspective – to measure my thoughts and impressions against those of the counselor.

It’s funny, now that I think about it. I used to always wonder what went on, what the subjects of conversation were before I walked into the room. Now I’m wondering (already) what they’ll be talking about after I leave. Guess it’s not a before or after thing, but a “I’m not there” thing.

Got the last of the powder room floor tiles set in place last night and Cindy pitched in and got a coat of paint on the moldings that were primed. Unfortunately, I am tied up every night between now and leaving for Vermont, so I doubt much more can get done. I could putz around and maybe get the grout in tomorrow night, maybe cut some moldings if Cindy gets them painted, but there won’t be any extended hours available for work until after we get back. I kinda hate that.

I’m writing this in bits & pieces throughout the day as time allows. One thing nearly as fractured as the timeline of this post is my memory today. Got home from work last night, hung my work pass on the key thingy near the garage door. Did all my normal evening stuff – dinner, chores, paid bills, even snuck in a post. Did the whole waking up thing this morning, got my stuff ready for work, bolted out the door. By the time I got to work, I realized I had left my work pass hanging on the key thingy.

After being at work for a bit, I realized I also left some work related folders at home and I also needed the checkbook for later. Decided to go home for lunch and get everything I forgot this morning. Two out of three ain’t bad. As I was getting out of my truck and heading back in to work, I realized I forgot my pass – AGAIN. Twice in one flippin’ day. At least the guard wasn’t at the desk in the lobby to let me in (again). I had to get on the Bat-phone and call the central security office and have them buzz me in.

Realized my truck had been ransacked overnight. My EZpass for highway tolls was on the drivers seat, a bunch of napkins normally in the center console (with the EZPass) were strewn all over. Thought that nothing was missing, but I recalled that a set of give away hunting knives had been taken – nothing else was missing, not even the loose change in the cup holder. That’s motivation for getting all the project leftovers & garage sale fodder packed away so we can get cars back in the garage like we’re supposed to. For one reason or another, it’s been 5 or 6 years since my own vehicle has been in the garage. I’ve been yielding to house guests, kids cars being stored while they’re at school or our supply of kitchen cabinets waiting to be installed. Scraping windows every morning for 4+ months a year gets old, fast. I might even delay putting in the powder room fixtures a day just to reclaim the garage space.

Wednesdays thoughts:

Counseling kinda sucked. I might leave it at that.

Thursdays thoughts:

Didn’t think I’d do it, didja?

Got a new one for you. Since my Amex fiasco with the unauthorized charges (Amex has been super, very responsive, very helpful) I have a habit of perusing my accounts and sort of reconciling them against my memory. Just the other day, I saw a charge for an on line store where we get switch plates & heater vent covers that I just sort of registered and put aside. Last night, after I grouted the tile floor in the powder room (pics pending), I noticed that there were only two switch plate covers. I was thinking that for the amount I saw charged, there ought to be two switch plate covers and maybe 4 or 5 vent covers.

So I mentioned to Cindy that I saw a charge from xyz store for $100, but all I see is two switch plates. Are there heater vents on back order, are they here someplace, or did we get mis-charged (liked slipped a decimal place)? Cindy blinked. Said no, all she ordered was two switch plate covers. She wasn’t aware of their cost at the time. I think my response was something along the lines of $100 is crazy for two switch pate covers. We didn’t spend that much for the entire kitchen.

This morning Cindy sent me a copy of her receipt. Hand made, blah blah blah, antiqued hammered copper, one at a time, yada, yada, yada, 43.50 each plus shipping. She mentioned that she’d send them back, they weren’t the same as the kitchen plates, not what she meant to get . . .

I emailed her back suggesting that she call the place first, see if they’ll take them back seeing as they are hand made, custom parts.

Her response was pretty much a fuck it then, I’ll keep them, it’s not worth the effort of sending them back. Then there was some nonsense about her feeling offended by my asking about the plates, me biting her head off and some other crap about my interrogating her, asking 100’s of questions and her not answering because I won’t like the response.

Didn’t last long, did it?

So I had a session with Annette today. ‘splained the situation to her. She started a statement with “I think it’s about time to consider . . .” and I interrupted her saying I know where she’s going with this and told her I have wondered what it would be like to be divorced, but haven’t considered it as a reality yet.

To which she responded “Interesting, but I was going to suggest that you start taking a more aggressive tack with her.”

D’oh!

She also made note of the fact that this is the first time I have mentioned the “D” word. She did suggest that I gauge the boys feelings on the matter. Not so much that I need their permission, but that they need to be aware.

So the bottom line is that after this weekend (a very romantic get away weekend to Vermont), I stop pussyfooting around and start taking a harder stance on things. I think I might hold off until our next session with the marriage counselor, unveil the new attitude in couples counseling if it feels appropriate and see if Janine follows along. She’s a smart cookie, I think she might.

On a lighter note – go read this:

naked dude arrested
and this more of the story

Dude got arrested for being naked in his own home after being spotted by a mother and child who were trespassing on his property. That’s not the whole story, you’ll have to click the links to get the media’s versions. I think he should counter sur for trespassing & being peeping Toms. A woman nekkid in her house wouldn’t be arrested, do you think? Well, unless she looked like Rosie O’Donnell or Roseann Barr. Eeww.

Thursday night:

Bowling sucked. But at least it sucke for everybody. Very, very tight line tonight. Very little room to miss. It was a position round (1st place bowls 2nd, 3rd bowls 4th, etc.) We were in a 5 way tie for third, took 6 of 8 points. Ought to wind up in no worse than third net week. Guess it sucked worse for the other guys eh?

I’m going to wrap this up & run. Off to the land of Bob Newhart for the weekend (Vermont, not Chicago). It’s gonna be a blast.

2 responses

  1. Q

    Well, I really don’t think the “raising my voice in a semi controlled manner” is getting anything done, so you should be more aggressive. Especially someone that would pay $50 for a freaking lightswitch! They’re 99 cents at Wal-Mart!

    October 26, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    • bikinfool

      Q – I think my 1/1 therapist agrees with you. Maybe not so much as raising my voice every now & then, but in standing my ground. The other thing is, she bought those outlet covers knowing that she has money from her dad’s estate backing her. In the gran schemme of things, $100 isn’t going to break the bank, it’s just the careless attitude.

      And believe me, I get plenty of the “It’s my money, I’ll do what I want with it” shit. ugh.

      October 27, 2009 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

