Always tweaking something!

Counseling V.2

Day 1669

The new marriage counsellor we’re seeing is a tiny little thing. She’s younger than us too, but that shouldn’t be an issue really. Mediation is mediation, right? She is an RN or LPN, I forget which, so she has a background in the physical side, and has also been an addiction counsellor. That could be a good thing – she’s sensitized to the particulars of dealing with addictive behaviors and hopefully will reognize when I’m calling bullshit on some of Cindy’s need to feel “in control” of everything.

It was also refreshing (Refreshing? Nah, maybe relieving) to hear Cindy admit to being an alcoholic and a control freak. It was NOT refreshing to hear her say she thought AA was enough solo counseling for her and that she didn’t need any help to work through her own issues.

One thing not working in my favor is that this therapist (Janine) is starting out unbiased. Before, when we’d seen Annette a few times, Annette aready knew my story and was already in my corner a bit. This time? Even start.

Since Cindy wilingly copped to her acoholism (but mised her sobriety date be a month or three), I also confessed to the affair from a year and a half ago (man – was it that long ago?). Again – we start on a somewhat even basis. We have another appointment next week.

The big crunch at work I easing some. We’re making headway on our big problem. Much of the problem is in the interface between our equipment and the test equipment. Thursday I plan to run some experiments to identify how to best isolate the problems.

Bowling again Thursday too. Only 3 weeks left. Bummer. But it does open up time to hit up another Al Anon meeting.

I gotta hit the hay. Have to sit in at a meeting first thing tomorrow. There is NOT enough coffee in my system for this kind of abuse that early in the morning. (Spin class is a whole other kind of torture)

3 responses

  1. Sounds like you are meeting yourself coming and going. Hope the work stuff eases up. Good luck with the new therapist – any type of therapy is tough, even when the outcomes are good. Hang in there.

    March 19, 2009 at 10:33 am

    • bikinfool

      I;ll really start worrying if I find myself chasing my tail around a corner. Work is easing up a tad – at least I think we can see the finish line. The rest will settle out. I hope.

      March 19, 2009 at 6:41 pm

  2. Q

    I’ve been doing twice my usual amount of work since last Friday & the coworker I’m taking up the slack for won’t be back until Tues. I plan on being comatose for most of the weekend 🙂

    You’d think that after drinking 4 different flavors of coffee, it would keep you awake!

    March 19, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Leave a Reply

