Always tweaking something!

New Fake Sugar

Day 1655

Wow. Lots to write about. Not. So I’ve opened this here document and will jot down the random pieces of flotsam & jetsam that float through my head during the day. I won’t get them all recorded real time, but will really try to remember as many as I can and get them down here during lulls in the day.

Truvia – the new fake sweet stuff. Normally here at work I use Splenda because our coffee fund splurges and spoils us. At home I use the generic ‘pink stuff’ as provided by our local grocer. This morning, here at the zoo, I noticed someone left a box of the new Truvia by the coffee machines. So I tried it. One packet in my 10 or so ounce coffee cup – same as I use for the pink, blue or yellow stuff. Right off the bat, it seems to have either less after taste or a different after taste, not sure which. I may have to resort to blind side by side taste tests, without clouding the issue with my usual hazelnut or vanilla creamer. Hmmm. I have blue stuff stashed away in my desk (emergency supply in case the bowls here run dry), pink stuff at home, and the yellow stuff and new stuff available by the coffee pots. I ought to secure samples for testing. That might also make a slightly less than boring photo-essay type entry too, ya think? A true test of fake sugars. No Q – NOT a good HNT entry! Although with 4 coffee cups, one could hide all the “R” rated areas, couldn’t they? Oh wait – guys only have one. Well, that might take 2 cups anyhow. Ok – enough of that train of thought.

While saving this, it’s occurred to me that I have my day numbers mixed up. ‘Scuse me while I go log onto http://www.Quitnet.com and check my widget.

Here’s the skinny:

My Stats:
Your Quit Date is: 8/22/2004 7:00:00 PM

Time Smoke-Free: 1654 days, 14 hours, 21 minutes and 25 seconds

Cigarettes NOT smoked: 33092

Lifetime Saved: 8 months, 12 days, 18 hours

Money Saved: $6,752.40

So as of 7pm tonight it’ll be 1655 days. I was wrong – I WAS right. For a change.

Those butts not smoked are based on a pack a day, which is pretty near what I averaged. More if driving a lot, and also more if drinking. Money saved is based on a pack a day and $4.08 a pack, which is what my bargain brand cost back then. The crap Cindy smokes (a name brand – not generic) is currently running closer to $7.50 a pack. I’m sure my generic brand has risen in cost. There’s been at least $1.50 PER PACK in additional taxes added since I quit. Gotta love New York.

Hmmm. Out of that money saved, what have I done with it? Membership at the Y. My bike. Bike shoes, jerseys, shorts. Bowling. (One condition on my returning to bowling was that I stay a non-smoker. What ever works!) I need to analyze what I’ve saved and where it’s gone. Maybe I have a good excuse to upgrade my bike this year!!

Appraisal day at work. Knew it was going to be a rough one. The phrase “appears cool calm and collected” as well as the word complacent were used. Apparently my even keel got perceived as not acknowledging a sense of urgency. Well shit. So much for being unflappable. In spite of this, I have been offered an opportunity. A very complex, critical and high profile project within our larger project. This can go two ways. If it goes well, I make progress towards a promotion. If it goes poorly, I make progress towards the door.

What’s the project? Well, you know how most computers and a whole host of devices are wireless these days? Our next product, which has officially been announced but I won’t go into details about here, will have a wireless option. We have a feeling it’s going to be popular. Clinical trials are going really well. Customers are going to be reluctant to give us back our prototypes. And I just inherited the wireless part. That is NOT going well. We think the big bump in the road is past, but I now have 3 calibration fixtures to learn, move, reassemble, operate, write procedures for, then instruct others to use. All with radio boards we don’t have yet. And because of the frequencies involved, operation of these boards is ruled more by black magic than science. And I am apparently banking my career on it.

Ugh. Late. Gotta go sleep. Gots lotsa stuff to start learning tomorrow. Bowling day too. And I’ll be spending a good hunk of it on the wrong side of the county. Hope the boss doesn’t mind if I drive. After I sleep.

Later.

Oh yeah – my sample of Truvia for this weekends test has been procured.  This might be interesting.

3 responses

  1. Regardless of taste: Truvia is better for you, hands DOWN. Ask me why. I’m not going to write that novel here. 🙂

    Also:

    T and I are coming to NY. Yes, that’s right, I’m getting my pasty ass on an airplane and traveling across the damn country. I have questions. See blog for details.

    March 5, 2009 at 2:33 am

  2. I’ll have to try the Truvia, especially if it is better for you. I don’t use a lot of fake sugar, with the gaping exception of Diet Coke, which contains god-knows-what. I look forward to your results.

    Good luck with the wireless stuff – that’s Bick’s specialty. He works in a test lab, certifying wireless devices of all kinds.

    March 5, 2009 at 5:31 am

  3. Maria in Mpls

    Hope your new project goes well with all the wireless piece. Never heard of Truvia – gotta check that out.

    March 5, 2009 at 1:37 pm

Leave a Reply

