Always tweaking something!

Dreaming

  • Day 1654

I was sorta dreaming this morning, looking at some extended weather forecasts for our area. I was hoping to learn when I might be able to consider riding my bike in to work again. It would appear that unless I choose to also purchase full length leggings, shoe covers, gloves and a facemask that will fit under my helmet (good luck there!), I won’t be commuting in March.

Average highs will be in the mid to upper 40’s by the end of the month, but morning lows still average below freezing. Add in 10 – 30 mph windchills and unless I’m bundled up in one of those cocoon sleeping bags I run the risk of freezing solid before I even get to the canal trail. That’s less than 2 miles, down hill & down wind usually. Not to mention that when I looked this morning, the canal trail was still snow covered. Seeing as much of it is really shaded, the snow won’t be melting any time soon. I might also mention that it was 10 this morning. 10 Farenheit. No time for bikes.

I ran into an interesting little factoid I ran into while dreaming about riding outside again. On March 22, the record high and low temperatures are 84 degrees apart. There are plenty of days (300 or so?) where we don’t even see 84 degrees period. That just seems like a big spread.

Someone commented or emailed something asking about the cover tunes Gary the Sadistic Bastard uses in his spin classes. In truth, I can not even begin to name the cover artists, and even the original artists I’m unsure of in many cases. Especially with some of the older blues standards. Who knows who the hell wrote any of those anyhow?

In Gary’s rather eclectic mix you’ll find an old blues tune done by an Irish band from NYC, an Irish folk song done by a reggae band from NYC, but originally from Jamaica, Hotel California done completely in Spanish – no doubt by a NYC band, then he’ll go off on weird stuff like when Mick Fleetwood was doing all that African drum stuff. Like I said, an eclectic mix. The worst one, if only because once you hear it you can not get it out of your head, is a version of “Achy Breaky Heart” also done in Spanish. It’s evil incarnate. Oh – I forgot about the Joaquin Phoenix/Reese Witherspoon rendition of a Johnny/June Cash number taken from the movie. THAT one is pretty good, especially considering I’m not much of a country music fan.

What I thought I’d do is ask Gary for a sampler CD with what artist info he can provide. He may try to weasel me into going to a spin class at the downtown Y sometime, but if that’s the only price I have to pay to get a copy, I’m in.

Should I get a copy and should anyone want a copy of their very own, we can arrange some sort of hostage exchange. AND – if I ever make one, I’ll also throw in a copy of what I’d like a spin class to be choreographed around. I can only promise one thing – there won’t be love ballads on it. Maybe one lullaby though – I kinda have a soft spot for Metallica’s “Enter Sandman”. What do you mean that’s not a lullaby? It’s a song about going to sleep, isn’t it? It is, so it qualifies. I also have this weird attraction for a number by Puddle of Mud – “She f***in hates me”. It appeals to the 12 year old in me I guess.

Ok – back from the regular Al Anon meeting now. Oddly – Cindy took in a meeting herself tonight. I think. At least I’m believing that’s where she was off too. She doesn’t normally do Tuesday’s. Didn’t normally do Thursday’s or Saturday’s either. Now she just goes. No advance warning, no explanation, just out the door. I mean, we DO have to co-exist, a little advance warning as to her plans isn’t asking too much, is it? I didn’t think so.

Gotta get off to bed, spin class comes early. I missed my dose of pedaling with Patty last week, can’t miss 2 in a row. Can’t be late either – might not get a bike.

Oh – so when might I realistically start biking in to work? Looks like mid April at the earliest. Still a risk of below freezing temps in the morning, and sunrise times slide bac a bunch because of daylight savings. (Notice that it doesn’t SAVE any daylight – it just shifts it, right?) Anyhow, 6 weeks to ride. Oh boy.

4 responses

  1. Q

    Hey, thanks for finally putting me on your sidebar over there >>> !

    I saw Billy Ray Virus singing some new crap on TV the other night & it sounded just as horrible as his old crap. I can’t imagine how much more crappier it must be in Spanish, but now I of course, have to hear it!

    Supposed to be in the 80’s here this week 🙂

    March 4, 2009 at 12:39 am

  2. Q

    P.S. Now that this blog doesn’t email me constantly about subscribing to the comments, it doesn’t send me the newer comments at all, either. Surely there is some middle ground somewhere where it would work right…?

    March 4, 2009 at 12:42 am

  3. Greetings! I haven’t been posting much at all — busy/in a funk/just not in the mood — but I still check in from time to time.

    Sorry to read about your PepBoys woes. Yes, they do suck. I had a major hissy fit there (the only way to get anything accomplished?) a few years ago and haven’t been back since. Nothing as serious as a no-oil oil change, but yeah, they suck long time.

    March 4, 2009 at 11:42 am

    • bikinfool

      Glad to have you peeking in. Hope you work your way out of the funk. Maybe some improved weather will help. You make it through this weeks storm ok?

      March 4, 2009 at 11:27 pm

Leave a Reply

