Always tweaking something!

Promising Research

Day 1642

This is too late to help The Bob, but this development shows more promise for slowing Alzheimer’s than anything else to date: http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20090218/sc_nm/us_alzheimers_mechanism_3

In typical breakthrough fashion, this particular anomaly was noticed while studying something else, rather like Pasteur and penicillin. One can only hope that this bears one-tenth as much fruit as Louie’s find. (Yeah – Louie and I were tight back in the day!)

Sorta typing this at lunch. Sorta. Munching a bowl of homemade minestrone. This stuff is good. Gobs of flavor, very low fat and low calorie too. Most calorie laden thing in it is a few hunks of potato and some cannellini beans. The rest – zucchini, leeks, carrots, tomatoes, a few peas, some onion – all in a no fat, low sodium chicken stock – they’re all reasonably low cal. I did an analysis of it, and if prepared strictly per the recipe, it comes in at around 100 calories per cup. I gotta double check that, but I think it really is that ridiculously low.

I had to laugh. Did you see that comment from Q last night? Q – you’re funny. But maybe I could find a way . . .

The gist of it was that with the new blog and the ample storage space that goes with it, I might start participating in HNT – or Half Nekkid Thursdays for those of you unfamiliar with the phenomenon. Go google HNT and see what you get. Some is VERY NSFW, others are a little more modest, but they all are exercising their artsy side. It’s neat to see what some folks come up with.

On a different note, I am slowly adding folks to my blogroll. First I had to figure out where the heck they were supposed to go. Now that I found that, I’ll start adding in all my regular, irregular, favorite and must reads.

A question for you WordPress pro’s too – how the heck to you add a photo to the top of your page? What do you even call it, a banner? A header? A frilly picture at the top? Then I have to find something I like that isn’t copyrighted, or (heaven forbid!!) make my own.

Don’t know it there’s a connection, but I struggled mightily for one game tonight at bowling and missed my average for the night by a fair amount. Also happens that the Buffalo Sabres lost too. For their sake, I hope there’s no correlation between my bowling and their hockey.

Well – spin class in the morning. Better get my butt to bed and rest up. We get to suffer with Gary the Sadistic Bastard tomorrow. I am definitely getting a back row seat.

3 responses

  1. Q

    I think that was an email, not a comment. Shhhhh, you’re going to start rumors!

    Whoah, that “snapshot” of my blog link in your sidebar is old!

    For more on HNT, visit http://www.osbasso.blogspot.com & get a real view from the back row 🙂

    February 20, 2009 at 12:53 am

  2. azzweepay

    I’m not sure what your chosen template calls for, but on mine you go to the link to your ‘dashboard’, within that there should be a link to ‘appearance’ and within that there’s a link for ‘custom image header’. It will allow you to upload an image from your computer.

    February 21, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    • bikinfool

      Ahhhh – Thanks Joe. I see the place where it belongs. I’m going to guess that the particular theme I picked doesn’t have an option for a custom header image. I may have to get brave and really learn some html so I can really wreak some havoc in here.

      February 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

